Screen Nation Awards third annual ceremony was in full swing on Sunday 11th December, bring to the forefront innovation and diverse digital media. Hosted by the current JPD boys and ‘The Weekend’ stars Joivan Wade, Percelle Ascott and Dee Kaate.


(Hosts Joivan Wade, Percelle Ascott and Dee Kaate / Sam Kay Photography)

WebseriesA Lesson Learnt’ by sibling duo Danny Wonders and Priscilla Owusu won the prestigious Favourite Webseries Ensemble on Sunday. Both the creators and the cast were gasped with full emotion of happiness as they took the award and gave their speeches, with Owusu highlighting that ‘…you don’t need a big team, but you just need the right team.’ 


(A Lesson Learnt / Sam Kay Photography)

The creators also used the opportunity to announce casting call for the second season of the show, which after Sunday night, will OFFICIALLY GO AHEAD. So for more details, follow the webseries across their social media to find out more click HERE

Fully Focused Productions continued to see the success their youth-led media organisation after winning Best short film ‘Deep It’, a follow up from their film documentary ‘Riot From Wrong’ in 2012. Founder Teddy Ngyh gave an impressive speech as to how the young production company is connecting raw talent that are waiting to be discovered, using the official team behind the film prime examples of this success. They are not only just about the talent, are also about the providing opportunities for young people to develop their skills in the world of media.

‘It’s not just like we went and made a film…we actually work with a lot of young people from all different boroughs that experienced some of issues that are in the film. The most important thing is they’re standing with us because of the film.’ – Peter Nygh

A DOT Comedian won the Best Online Comedian, beating the likes of Arnold Jorge & Tom Moutchi. However, A Dot didn’t let out the opportunity pass him by, to praise the other comedians that were in his category. Encouraging them to continue their good work“. This sense of encouragement continued with Not For The Radio’s Duane Jones, who represented the team after winning Favourite Online Talk Show. The radio presenter made positive remarks towards contender ‘Straight No Chaser’ stating that more “cooperation & collaboration is needed“.


(Duane Jones, Not For The Radio / Sam Kay Photography)

Olu Adaeze won Favourite Webseries Actress for ‘Boxx’. The actress used the opportunity to recognise the person who saw her raw talent and the creators of the show who allowed her to be among the cast to tell the story of transgenders. Click HERE to watch her moving speech.


(Olu Adaeze / Sam Kay Photography)

Aaron Broachman presented both the Digital Vanguard and Achievement Award to the Fanbyte founders, Steve Bartlett (CEO of Social Chain), Patricia Bright and Samantha Maria. Steve Bartlett wasn’t able to make the awards, rather he sent a special video message all the way from New York.


(Aaron Broachman / Sam Kay Photography)

The biggest winners of the night were the creators of the ‘Hood Documentary’. Kayode Ewumi won Favourite Webseries Actor and his right-hand man Tyrell Williams was present to take home the Favourite Webseries Awards. Apart from the fact that Williams made a SHOCKING announcement that the smash hit show wasn’t going to return for another season, he did hint that he has new projects are in works. Indeed, no one ever knew that the show was going gain much recognition and praise from the public (judging by those memes of Hood Safe). It was from this show that we’ve seen BBC continuously picking up content such as Cecile Emekee ‘Ackee & Saltfish’, ‘The Asian Provocateur’ and ‘The Maxim Brady Show’. 


(Tyrell Williams, Hood Documentary / Sam Kay Photography)

Galzdem Magazine won the Favourite Arts & Entertainment Lifestyle Mag/Site, the ladies highlighted the motivator behind setting the publication, explaining that their best highlights that occurred throughout the year.


(Galzdem Magazine / Sam Kay Photography)

While GRM Daily won the Favourite Youth Entertainment Lifestyle Mag/Site.

Apart from the nominees and their family of supporters attending on the night, Producer Naughty Boy, Noel Clarke and ‘Humans’ Actor Kofi Abrefa also attended to present some of the awards.

Favourite Web Series Actor

Ishmael Majid – Levelz

Kayode Ewumi – Hood Documentary – WINNER

Khaleb Brooks – Boxx

King Cas – New Skool Life

Kingsley Amadi – Spin (Season Finale)

Michael Gyekye – How Did We Get Here

Stephen Boyce – How Did We Get Here

Sylvester Akinrolabu – A Lesson Learnt

Favourite Web Series Actress

Olu Adaeze – Boxx – WINNER

Joanne Sandi – A Lesson Learnt, TV Footballers

Kamara Bacchus – How Did We Get Here

Linda Adey – Dear Jesus

Natalie Gumede – Sally the Life Coach

Scarlett Carter – A Lesson Learnt

Vanessa Donovan – Shrink

Favourite Web Series Ensemble

A Lesson Learnt S1 – Wondervision Films – WINNER

Boxx S1 – Joi Productions in Assn with Plot Lost Prods

Concealed S1 – Sandra Koree/Clever Lens Media Production

Dear Jesus S4 – Wonderlondon

Levelz S1 – Paul Opara, Shawn John, Malik Marli/Ezeo Media

New Skool Life S1 – Street Seven Films

Spin S2 (Season Finale) – Spin Drama TV

Favourite Web Series

Hood Documentary S1 – Tryrell Williams/TkCreatives – WINNER

A Lesson Learnt S1 – Priscilla Owusu, Danny Wonders/Wondervision Films

Boxx S1 – Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor, Yrsa Daley-Ward/Joi Productions in Assn with Plot Lost Prods

Dear Jesus S4 – Danielle A Scott-Haughton/Wonderlondon

Hot Pepper S1 – Destiny Ekaragha/2far Films

How Did We Get Here S2 – Cardy Films/Bwng

Shrink S1 – Katrina Smith Jackson, Trish M. Chanda/Auteur Vision Media

TV Footballers S1 – Matthew Allick, Chris Alozie/Allick Productions

Favourite Short Film

Deep It – Dir. Teddy Nygh / Prod Nick Bedu -WINNER

Fabric of The Royals – Dir./Wri. Verona Rose

New Beginnings – Dir Nicole Volavka

The Works – Dir./Wri. Elliot Barnes-Worrell

Wild in the Wind – Dir./Wri. Ejiro Okorodudu

Wilton – Dir./Wri. Cecile Emeke

Favourite Online Comedian

A Dot Comedian WINNER

Arnold Jorge

Ds Rants’n’Bants

Tommy Moutchi

Uncle Rafool

Favourite Podcast

3 Shots Of Tequila – WINNER

Artistic State Of Mind –

Half Cast/Chuckie Online –

Melanin Millennials –

Mostly Lit –

Tea And Biscuits –

Favourite Online Talk Show

Not For The Radio – – WINNER

Straight No Chaser –

Favourite Arts & Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag

Gal Dem – WINNER

Afridiziak –

Black Ballad –

Levile –

The British Blacklist –

The Colour Network –

The Young Empire –

Favourite Youth Entertainment/Lifestyle Site/Mag


Flavourmag –

ink Up TV –

New Wave District –

The Young Empire –

Digital Achievement (honorary)

Steven Bartlett

Timothy Armoo & Ambrose Cooke




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here