With the announcement of the 4th Annual IARA Awards being announced by us, things are already underway with the official nominees, and this year, the list looking juicy and star-studded with upcoming names and mainstream talent.

Before we begin, let’s talk about the major switch up that IARA have created this year in regards to the nominees, as they have taken the Best Reality Star and replaced it with Best Media Personality. There are new categories that provides emphasis on the upcoming youth ‘Best Young Male/Female…’ Still, the final shortlist of the official nominees is complete.

‘Eastenders’ newcomer Zack Morris joins the likes of John Boyega and Daniel Kaluuya in both Best Actor and Best Young Actor. Also competing is Alfred Enoch who is nominated for his role in ‘How to Get Away with Murder’ in the Best Young Actor category.

For the ladies, you have the likes of ‘Lady Macbeth’ Florence Pugh, Gemma Chan and Jocelyn Dumas has another two nominations in Best Personality and Best International Actress. In the  Best Emerging  Actor category is on the come up Antonio Akeel, who saw success for his role in the film ‘Eaten by Lions’ at the Indian Music Festival. He’ll be competing against the likes of Tom Holland, Kevin Leslie, Llyods Everitt, Josh Wichard, Reis Bruce and Emmerdale’s Ned Porteous. For the Emerging Actress you got Mandip Gill, Lara Goddison, Anna Shaffer, Simona Brown, Anna Shaffer, Lucie Shorthouse and Daisy May Head.

Moving on to music now and we see the likes of Isaiah Dreads and new sensation B Young nominated alongside the likes of Michael Dapaah and ‘The Voice’ Donel Mangena. Michael Dapaah has a second nomination in the Best Male Artist category alongside Louis Tomilinson, George Ezra and recent BET International Artist Winner Davido.

The Best Female Artist category looks just as sweet with names Jorja Smith, StefflonDon, Jessie J and Anne-Marie.

The return of Dionne Bromfield into the music scene has earned her the heads up for the Best Young Female Artist with Rina Sawayama and Louisa Johnson.

Niniola has been shortlisted for Best International Female Artist with Mzvee and Justine Skye. The Best African Artist category sees the likes of Kenyan Group Sauti Sol and Stonebwoy among the nominees alongside Nsoki Neto and Lira. Davido competes once again in the International Male Artist category at IARA. This time, he’ll be competing with other African male artists such as Diamond Plantinumz, Cassper Nyovest and Black Coffee.

Moving forward to the realms of television, we see the likes of Reggie Yates nominated for the Best Male TV Presenter alongside Andi Peters, Craige Wilde and Gethin Jones just to name a few. For the Best Female TV Presenter, you have names such as Ferne Mccann, Francesca Chillemi, Stephanie Coker, Lisa Cannon and Scarlette Moffatt.

Voting has officially open and are set to close on the 10th of August. In the meantime, why not cast your vote for your favourite nominee to win.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here