The nominees for this year’s MOBOs were announced at the nomination event that took place at Ronnie Scotts London.

Mostack, WSTRN, Izzy Bizu, Kojey Radical67, Avelino, AJ Tracey, Ray BLK, Nadia Rose and Anne-Marie have been shortlisted for the Best Newcomer award. This would be the second time that we’ll see Nadia Rose & Ray BLK in competing for the same category. Ms Rose will competing also against Kodjey Radical for Best Video.

AIM Awards 2016 winner Little Simz has been given a second chance to take the MOBO gong in two categories, which are Best Hip Hop & Best Female. For Best Hip Hop Little Simz is the only female.

The Best African Act category has the most Afrobeat influences such as Moelogo, Yemi Alade, Olamide, Tiwa Savage, Wizkid, Mista Silva, Tekno Miles, Mr Eazi as well as Kwamz & Flava. But the MOBO’s team have hinted that this category will be reduced to five by October 17 (we will keep you posted).

Congratulations to our Best African Act nominees! #MOBOAwards

A post shared by MOBO (@moboawards) on

BBC 1xtra continue their collaboration with the MOBO’s to present the Best Grime category. AJ Tracey has been given a second nomination for the Grime category against the likes of legends such as Mercury Prize winner Skepta, Mercury Prize nominee Kano. There’s more for the taking between Skepta, Kano and Stormzy, as these three have been nominated for the Best Male Act alongside Tinie Tempah and Craig David. The MOBOs has also shortlisted Kano, Craig David and Tinie Tempah for the Best Song category for their respective tracks “J-Wheel Ups ft Giggs” Wiley, “When The Bassline Drops” ft Big Narstie and “Girls Like” ft Zara Larsson.

All four Mercury 2016 nominees Skepta, Kano, Laura Mvula & Michael Kiwanuka will fight for the MOBO’s 2016 Best Album Award, with Giggs completing the final shortlist for his recent album release “Landlord”. Giggs has been also nominated for the Best Hip Hop Act MOBO Award alongside the likes of Section Boyz, Fekky and Wretch 32.

Shakka will be competing for the Best R&B/Soul Act alongside Laura Mvula, Michael Kiwanuka, James Blake and Nao. Laura Mvula and Nao are both shortlisted for the Best Female Act alongside Katy B, Little Simz and Lady Leshurr.

For Best Gospel, you have Guvna B, Volney Morgan & New-Ye, Sarah Teibo, S.O and Andrew Bello. For Reggae, you have Popcaan, Alkaline, Spice, Protoje and Kranium.

Congrats to our Best Gospel Act nominees. #MOBOAwards

A post shared by MOBO (@moboawards) on

Rated Awards winner Abra Cadabra, girlgroup M.O, Lethal Bizzle, J.Hus and Jorja Smith are also among the nominees for the Best Song Award. However, it’s Laura Mvula & Kano that have the most nominations this year as both artist have four each.

Public voting is now LIVE from the official website, so swiftly cast your vote for your favouite artist, if you want to seem them win on November 4th at the Glasgow Hydro.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here